“God’s got His hand on him.”

I say this often when I think of my son and the challenges he faces in life. I have seen God’s mercy and grace when he has saved him from personal harm and destruction because of health-related issues. I have seen God’s mercy and grace when he placed just the right solutions at the right time in his path while in the throes of difficult circumstances. So, for me, “God’s hand” relates to his providence, his guidance and protection over someone I love. The kinds of things God can do that I cannot. God is in the life-saving business after all.

Parents and caregivers can understand this overwhelming desire to do the saving; to be there to try to prevent every possible mishap to the ones they are charged with. We do it because we don’t want to lose our children before their time. We fall on our knees in desperate prayer for God’s good graces to protect them when we cannot. Yet, parents do lose their children too soon. It happens. We pray hard for God to heal and save them. We even bargain with God.

…do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.” Philippians 4:6

But such anxiety and concern for the ones we love can leave us little strength for the actual care God has entrusted us in providing for our children in the first place. Do we realize this? I didn’t until my journey began 21 years ago and the process of learning continues even now. God’s word reminds me daily not to be anxious for anything. I have reached a place where I don’t worry as much as I used to, but that’s not saying a lot. Because I worried a lot years ago and it still sneaks up on me. I especially realized this after an ordeal in December, 2014. I realized that God has His hand on my son no matter “what” happens. My son is still thankfully with us. But what are we saying about God when a loved one passes on even though we’ve fervently prayed for their life to be spared? Did God disregard your prayers? Did He just choose not to answer you? Did He hear you? Do you need to repent of something and now He’s holding it against you by taking someone you love? Oh, please, please take heart! I believe that we are connected to each other here on earth by His design but it’s important to remember we are held together and bound by God in heaven. He has us and our loved ones in the hollow of His hand here on earth AND in heaven. Never hold on to anything tighter than you are holding on to God. open_hands1

Father God, it is with open hands, I once again accept the privilege, responsibility and care to the ones you’ve entrusted to me. I offer love, because you do. I offer what’s needed, because you provide. I offer strength, wisdom, guidance and friendship, because you sustain me. My open hands reach back up to you, releasing every day any claim I ever had on anything I ever thought was mine; accepting the best in return: Your Son. In Jesus most beautiful name, I pray. Amen.


